top of page

Healthy & Easy Oat Bars: "Earth Bars" Recipe

Updated: May 31, 2020

My mom first found and prepared a recipe similar to this one for my elementary school class when she was asked to come in on Earth Day. Needless to say, this recipe was a huge success and one that we've kept in our baking repertoire over the years.


I don't have these often - despite how easy and simple they are to make- but they have made the perfect performance fuel for me, a particularly picky eater when it comes to what I put in my body before a show. I find them to be light & easy to digest but also incredibly satisfying and able to sustain me through the hours of dancing!


My mom has even adapted this recipe for friends who are vegan and for those who have allergies and food intolerances-seriously such a simple recipe to adapt for all because of the minimal required ingredients and steps to make them!


As always I've taken the liberty of filming this recipe with my mom on my youtube channel! You can click the following link,

or scroll to the bottom of the recipe to watch as you bake!


I hope you enjoy! xx

 

Healthy Oatmeal "Earth Bars"


Ingredients:


1 1/2 cups of Baking Mix *

1 1/2 cups of #Quaker instant oats

1 cup of packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup of softened butter

1/4 cup of applesauce OR 1 egg

1/2 tsp of cinnamon


Add-ins:


use 1 whole cup total (or more if desired :) )

  • chocolate chips

  • dried fruits

  • chopped nuts

  • coconut

  • fresh fruit

*= for baking mix Bisquick is optimal. If you do not have Bisquick you can make your own for this recipe (as seen in video)


Sift together: 1 1/2 cups of baking powder, 2 1/4 tsp of baking powder, and 1/8 tsp of salt.

Place in bowl: use a pastry cutter to mix in 1 1/2 tbsp of softened butter

The dough: will form and resemble a crumbly texture.



 

Directions:


1. Begin by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a medium sized bowl combine all of your main ingredients together. It will resemble an oat dough texture (see video for visual aid).

3. Determine which mix-ins you would like to transform your dough - or choose to leave it plain - and fold them into your mixture.

4. Once your dough is fully combined press the mixture into a 9 X 13 (recommended) ungreased pan. You'll want to make sure the dough is nice and even-you may use a spatula but for optimal packing wash your hands (again, as you hopefully had done so prior to baking) and continue the process with your hands.

5. Once your pan is pressed to your desire, place the pan into the over for approximately 15-20 minutes.

6. Once edges are golden brown yours bars are done! Take them out and give them at least ten minutes to settle before digging in-if you can contain yourselves :)


see I told you this was an easy recipe ! :)


I hope you enjoy this recipe- It's super simple and quick to whip and most importantly satisfying for the whole family no matter your food preferences!


Stay Safe

&

I Wish you all the best,


Dancingwithgrace

Grace



14 views0 comments
bottom of page